International Health Promoting Universities & Colleges Steering Group

The International Health Promoting Universities & Colleges Steering Group comprises representatives from national and regional networks across the globe. Its overarching aim is to advance the Okanagan Charter internationally, thereby inspiring and catalyzing further action towards the creation of health promoting universities and colleges. Key focus areas include: network building and development, future conferences, and charter communication, activation and mobilization.

The Steering Group is currently chaired by Professor Mark Dooris from the University of Central Lancashire, who co-chairs the UK Healthy University Network.


Steering Group Members

Hiram Arroyo | Universidad de Puerto Rico | Puerto Rico |

Rosie Dhaliwal | Simon Fraser University | Canada |

Matt Dolf | University of British Columbia | Canada |

Mark Dooris, Chair | University of Central Lancashire | United Kingdom |

Gerry Eijkemans | Pan American Health Organization | USA |

Karen Hicks | University of Auckland/Unitec | New Zealand |

Claudia Hildebrand | Karlsruher Institut für Technologie | Germany |

Johnston Huang | Beijing Normal University-Hong Kong Baptist University United International College | China |

Areekul Kung | AUN-PPN Secretariat | Thailand |

Ana Martinez | Universidad de Las Américas | Ecuador |

Rowena Saheb | Western Sydney University | Australia |

Allison Smith | New York University | USA |

Paula Swinford | University of Southern California | USA |

Anna Thorpe | Canterbury District Health Board |New Zealand |

Name *


The Network would like to acknowledge Western Sydney University’s teaching design studio, Rabbit Hole, for developing our visual identity.